A unique and outstanding 16th Century Castle, with great period charm, in a stunning rural location, lovingly restored to a very high standard. It commands panoramic views to the River Don and hill of Bennachie close to Paradise, a famous Aberdeenshire beauty spot. It has Six/Seven Bedrooms, Bathroom and Shower Rooms, 3 Public Rooms including the Great Hall with open fire: adjacent to the Great Hall in the tower is the Lairds Dining room and on the fourth floor the Long Gallery with Minstrel Gallery. The ground floor comprises 1. The kitchen, 2. A small dining room, and 3. A cloakroom/utility room. The castle has oil−fired central heating and is currently unfurnished, however it could be part furnished.
Pitfichie Castle is situated in approximately 3 acres of grounds to the north−west of Monymusk, and is 21 miles from the centre of Aberdeen. The village of Monymusk has a primary school, hotel, art gallery and historic church. Secondary schooling is available in the village of Kemnay, four miles away. There is an International School in Aberdeen (For school bus pick−up points, please contact the School Office). Inverurie is the nearest town, with a wide range of shopping, recreational and leisure facilities. The City of Aberdeen is easily accessible and has a mainline railway station. The airport with both domestic and international connections, is approximately half−an−hour−s drive from the Castle.
In the 14th Century the lands of Pitfichie belonged to the ancient family of Hurry or Urrie, possibly descended from Hugo de Urre and Maulcolum de Ouree of Normandy. Major General Sir John Hurry, son of the last Hurry Laird of Pitfichie, was the famous Civil War free−lance soldier, who was defeated by the Duke of Montrose at Auldearn in 1645. He then changed sides and served under the Duke of Montrose during the last forlorn attempt of Carbiesdale and was hanged in Edinburgh on 29th May 1650. Though born at Pitfichie he was never its Laird. In 1597 Pitfichie was sold to John Cheyne of Fortrie who during a short but illustrious career became M.P. for Aberdeen. Pitfichie remained in the Cheyne family until about 1650, when it was purchased by the Forbeses of Monymusk. Lady Jean Keith, daughter of Earl of Kintore, married William Forbes, eldest son of the Laird of Monymusk, and lived at Pitfichie (with their household in the castle being recorded in the Poll Book of 1696). On his father−s death in 1708, William inherited the Monymusk Estate and moved to Monymusk House. The Jacobite Connection: William−s step brother John Forbes, an ardent Jacobite, inherited Pitfichie, being known thereafter as Jacobite John of Pitfichie. He married Susanne Morrison in 1704 and they produced 11 children. As official tax collector for Aberdeenshire he vigorously assisted the Earl of Mar (Commander−in−Chief of the Scottish forces) to raise cash for the 1715 Jacobite Rising. The cause lost, he fled to Holland in 1716 and is believed to have perished at sea. His widow, having struggled to bring up her large family, was subsequently forced to give up Pitfichie. Pitfichie is thought to have been built about 1564 during the reign of Mary Queen of Scots. The castle consists of a rectangular tower house with a large round tower attached to its southern corner. It is regarded as an intermediate link between the simple oblong tower and the fully developed Z plan.
The castle was unroofed in 1769 and remained a ruin until it was purchased by Colin Wood, of Aberdeen in 1977. Colin acquired the services of a notable castle specialist, Slesser Troup, Master Mason, and a small team of skilful craftsmen. The restoration, which began in 1978, was completed in 1986. Pitfichie, which had been described by leading experts as an irremediable ruin, had finally been returned to its former glory. 81166/110/13590